Share this article
  • 25
  • 14
  • 12
  • 9

The anatomy of the brain is complex due its intricate structure and function. This amazing organ acts as a control center by receiving, interpreting, and directing sensory information throughout the body. The brain and spinal cord are the two main structures of the central nervous system. Different areas of Brain are Forebrain, the Midbrain, and the Hindbrain.

Different areas of brain: FOREBRAIN

Different areas of brain include Forebrain, also called pros encephalon, region of the developing vertebrate brain; it includes the telencephalon, which contains the cerebral hemispheres, and, under these, the diencephalon, which contains the thalamus, hypothalamus, epithalamiums, and subthalamus. The forebrain plays a central role in the processing of information related to complex cognitive activities, sensory and associative functions, and voluntary motor activities.

Different areas of brain


The forebrain controls body temperature, reproductive functions, eating, sleeping, and the display of emotions. At the five-vesicle stage, the forebrain separates into the diencephalon (thalamus, hypothalamus, subthalamus, epithalamiums, and protector) and the telencephalon which develops into the cerebrum.

Different areas of brain: MIDBRAIN

Midbrain, also called mesencephalon, region of the developing vertebrate brainthat is composed of the tectum and tegmentum. The midbrain serves important functions in motor movement, particularly movements of the eye, and in auditory and visual processing. It is located within the brainstem and between the two other developmental regions of the brain, the forebrain and the hindbrain; compared with those regions, the midbrain is relatively small.



Each moment, our midbrain is allowing you to balance and coordinate your movement in the world. It sits right between our forebrain and hindbrain. And it’s the center of your visual and auditory reflexes.

Not only this, but it also controls and regulates our dopamine production. As our body’s motivation chemical, this controls our attention, habits and behavior, as well as playing a major role in our mood, movement and memory.

The busy little midbrain even plays roles in our sleep/wake cycle, alertness and temperature regulation.

Different areas of brain: HINDBRAIN

Hindbrain, also called rhomb encephalon, region of the developing vertebrate brain that is composed of the medulla oblongata, the pons, and the cerebellum. The hindbrain coordinates functions that are fundamental to survival, including respiratory rhythm, motor activity, sleep, and wakefulness.

Brain and other organs


Each of the three different regions of the Hindbrain helps coordinate specific functions and activities. The medulla transmits signals between the spinal cord and the higher parts of the brain; it also controls autonomic functions such as heartbeat and respiration. The pons is partly made up of tracts that connect the spinal cord with higher brain levels, and it also contains cell groups that transfer information from the cerebrum to the cerebellum. Some of those cell groups are part of the reticular formation, a network of neurons extending throughout the brainstem that regulates alertness, sleep, and wakefulness. The medulla likewise houses a portion of the reticular formation.


Studying bachelor of elementary education from lady shri ram college , part of NCC-LSR , Hard working and punctual.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu